The Penny Inn

I did not exactly cover myself with glory concerning the Bag of the Month Club – I am far behind my own expectations speaking of how much pattern I sewed down. In only two months the early bird subscription for 2016 starts. And finally – finally! – I managed to sew the Penny Inn wallet! Chris W. started a sew-along in her facebook group and I jumped at the chance.

It’s a wallet design by Chris W. that I adored since it was revealed, I but also had a lot of respect. The pattern requires accuracy and patience. I promise you will be rewarded!

I added some piping at the front – and accidently in the inside also, as I added it on the wrong pattern piece first and did not want to unstitch. It turned out a bit uneven but I really like the effect!

Yep, as I said – pay attention to accurate stitching!

At the back I added my label. Here the group really was helpful as I couldn’t work out at what pattern piece I had to add it. With the help of the group it went exactly where I wanted. Thanks for that!

When you open the wallet, the front is secured with a snap.

The accidentally inserted piping looks quite good!

It is roomy, not to say, gigantic – it holds 21 cards, has 3 zipper pockets and one or two slip pockets. I can’t even decide yet where to put my stuff as I have so much options.

Hard work done, it was really challenging, but I like the pattern. I would suggest not to use too heavy weighted fabric as it gets quite bulky at some parts. My tip for a successful Penny Inn adventure is: press, press, press! And read the instructions. I know, everyone says that. They do with a reason, believe me.

Fabric used:
Camelot Fabrics – Mint Condition
No-name grey solid from the local fabric store

Linking up with TT – Taschen und Täschchen and creadienstag

Leave a comment

